Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1962 Chevy C10 First Project

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by aahowk423, Mar 23, 2014.

1. aahowk423

aahowk423
    from Stow, OH

I'm a 20 year old college kid. This is my first project like this.

I came home from class one day and decided to look on Craigslist for an old truck. Within a few minutes, I found a 62 Chevy C10 a few miles from my house. That weekend we went and looked at the truck. By we, I mean my mom, her boyfriend Dave, and my Uncle David. The truck looked pretty decent and ran pretty well too. With input from other HAMBers, I decided to buy the truck. The PO was asking 2300, but I talked him down to 2200. I know, not a big price difference, but it was what he bought it for plus what he had put into it. He redid the brake drums, put in all new brake lines, got a new exhaust, new tires, new front and rear driver's side fender.

My goal with the project is to do as much of the work with just me and Dave. It seems like a daunting task, but I'm looking forward to the experience learned and satisfaction gained by the end. That said, the first task is to get this bad girl safely and legally driveable. That means replacing the floor panels, rocker panels, front and rear cab brackets, front windshield, and getting the lights wired and functional.

Last weekend, my mom graciously gave up her side of the garage. Dave and I quickly moved in his welder, a couple of saw horses, a work bench, lighting and heating system, and a tool chest. We also removed the driver's door which needs work and the new front driver's side fender.