Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Flathead cooling

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Fordoors, Mar 22, 2014.

1. Fordoors

Fordoors

I'm new to flatheads, so this might be a "known issue"...I recently installed a newly rebuilt flathead in my shoebox. Before it was dropped, I had the radiator refurbished and all the gauges in the dash gone through. Now that she's up and running, I can't get the operating temp anywhere close to the mid point. She consistently runs hot. I replaced both sensors as well.
    Any thoughts?

Thanks
    Michael

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

2. R Pope

R Pope

Are the sensors the right ones? The one with two wire connections is a real gauge indicator,it grounds through the single wire sender. The single wire one opens contact when it reads hot and the needle goes straight to "Hot". I would get an infrared thermometer and see what it is really running at for temp.

3. Super Streak

Super Streak
    from Florida

Make sure the thermostats are out. Check that your running a 50/50 ratio of anti- freeze and water. Check that your timing is correct. Make sure your exhaust is not clogged. That the fan belt is tight. That your water pumps are good. Have you flushed your engine to make sure all the passages are cleared out. Flatheads can be a P.I.T. Ass when it comes to running hot.

4. junkyardjeff

junkyardjeff

I have found the temp gauges seem to read more hot then the motor acutually is,I built a 51 for my dad that the temp gauge read almost hot but a thermometer in the radiator said 180.

5. kendall66

kendall66
    from iowa

timing has to be dialed in. this is a must.

6. s nichols

s nichols

use 2 mechanical gauges ( one for each bank ) donot rely one original gauge for accurate readings--- make sure tune up is correct

7. ginuine555

ginuine555
    from louisiana