Register now to get rid of these ads!

History superstock class

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by georgepan, Mar 18, 2014.

1. georgepan

georgepan
    from maryland

A little help...
    So I have been pouring through some old drag news newspapers for 1964 and I am curious what is the difference between

S/S (S/SA Automatic) and SS/A(SS/AA automatic)
    I have seen the superstocks marked as both and in the literature...

Any Thoughts

thanks

2. 270dodge

270dodge
    from Ohio

I see that you have not had many hits on this but I'll try to help. I raced a SS/JA car 1968- 70.
    SS/ =Super stock
    The next character was the class ABCDEFGHIJ etc. Cubic inches and weight.
    The added A indicated automatic.

Sometimes I got into HS/A and had some kinda fun!

3. 56sedandelivery

56sedandelivery
    Member Emeritus

Your S/S would be "S"/Stock, if it was an automatic trans car, then "A", for automatic, would follow the classification. The prior poster is correct with SS being Super Stock, with the same classification of "A" if it was an automatic trans car. Manual trans cars were't "noted" however. So, you're actually referring to two separate classes, Stock and Super Stock. The classes have changed GREATLY over the years, and the old (prior to 72) Stock classes were actually composed of THREE "levels" of Stock; Top Stock was "A" to "F", Junior Stock "G" to "N", and Little Stock "O" to "W", but even those "levels" were juggled around from year to year (CONFUSING!!!). Things are even more confusing now, and far more screwed up. Butch/56sedandelivery.

4. 270dodge

270dodge
    from Ohio

I have to correct myself here. It was not cubic inches to weight but advertised HP to weight that established a class. The factories would oftentimes underrate the HP to gain advantage.
    And I did not cheat in HS/A it was H/SA, I could run 1 1/2 seconds under the record :D.