Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Flathead help.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by chopt49, Feb 24, 2014.

1. chopt49

chopt49

Ok so I am new to the flathead game... (so be nice to me please)

Picked up a few this past weekend. I am building an AV8 frame to drop my '26 roadster on.

First is a 46-48 59A and runs smooth and was in a welder generator its entire life...!

Second is also a runner out of a '53, has spun bearing ($80-150 fix). New carb and 12 volt conversion. Was his daily until bearing issue. Seller states was rebuilt around 6k miles ago.. super clean inside after taken the intake off. Not sure why the bearing spun so soon? 3 speed side shift with one heck of a loooong tail shaft! Is there a short tail shaft that fits?

Ok so my Question(s) to the gurus: Which flatty is best for the AV8 build?

The '46 59A has the fan sitting real low off the crank so is there an easy way to move it up say off the generator/alt location??

Oh I have 40 juice brakes and a '35 banjo going under.. stock A axle with reverse eye spring and small Doane Spender kick up.

Thanks, for any feedback you ca provide..

Last edited: Feb 24, 2014
  2. I have a 59AB in my 32 coupe and an 8BA in my 36 coupe, they are both the best flatheads to have, but I personally prefer the 59AB but that's just me I just think they look better with the center water outlets and the dissy out front. As far as fan options you can run a generator mounted fan, or you can get the fan hub assembly that bolts on to the same generator mount position. Or 3rd option electric fan but not traditional.

3. hilltopgaragede

hilltopgaragede
    from Delaware