Register now to get rid of these ads!

painters and bodyshop owners advice needed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by autobodyed, Feb 19, 2014.

1. autobodyed

autobodyed
    from shelton ct

hey guys, i've been using sikkens brand paint for over 20 years now, and like everything else, i've watched the cost increase dramatically. i think it is probably one of, if not the best paint in the world. (my opinion only) but now i think it's time to change. i just bought three gallons of toners, and the 811m silver has a price tag of $758.50. 1 gallon of 120 white, $510.00, and 1 gallon of 190 white gray, $605.00. my cost w/discount is $1554.91. i think it's rediculous, i almost shit myself when i saw the ticket!! i sent it all back! now, i know you get what you pay for, you wanna use good paint it's gonna cost you, and all of that. my question is, what brand paints are you guys using that you are happy with putting on customers cars and not having to worry about problems down the road. i already have thier U-TECH system for my fleet accounts and thats fine. but i really need to re-think this whole auto base plus line. i've talked to dupont reps, ppg reps, transtar reps, glasurit etc. etc. etc. but, i value your guys opinion more, and i really could use some input as to what you guys are happy with, price wise, color match, reliability wise, etc. sorry, water is not an option. this thread is not intended to turn into a pissing match, and if the mods think it is too off topic they can close it. i do custom paint work as well as collision work. i need to bust a move on this, so lets hear what you have to say, thanks in advance, eddie.

2. afaulk

afaulk

Do a test for yourself on PPG's Shopline (colors only). Stick with one of their high solids clears. It's WAY less expensive and the high quality clears give excellent durability. I have only done complete jobs with this system and don't know how well the metallics/pearls blend.