Register now to get rid of these ads!

How to become a HS auto shop teacher? off topic?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by burndup, Nov 10, 2005.

1. burndup

burndup
    from Norco, CA

I am presently an out of work computer information technology nerd. Specifically, a Linux/Unix systems administrator.

I dont want to go back, its never a 9-5 job, and an increasing trend is that you get woken up in the middle of the night either by a pager or a dude in Bangalore and you have to fix something. Then you gotta give up your weekends at times to fix stupid shit that someone else didnt.

But the strong skill I have that got me into this career is that I can figure out complicated stuff, either reverse-engineer and clone it, or fix it when it shits. Most of the time I would have to report on what the hell I did and how. Often I'd have to TEACH people what I knew. Many times I've been complimented that I'm an excellent teacher and communicator.

So its soul searching time for a new career. Something vaguely automotive would be cool, as this car addicction is clearly in the blood. I dont want to work on cars for a living, I know I'll quickly hate it.

But the auto-shop teacher thing is sticking in my mind.

*Part of whats wrong with the USA is that people either throw shit away when it breaks, or bend over and pay to have it fixed... often times never even having the thought come across their mind "Hey, maybe I'll open this thing up and see if I can see WTF is going wrong inside."

I think it would be cool to teach young people that lost skill that made this country great in the first half of the last century. If it broke, you fixed it. If you didnt have it and you wanted it, you MADE it, or kludged it out of other parts, etc. See where I talk below about "hacking."