Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Only 15 First Hot Rod Build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by v8juice, Jan 26, 2014.

1. v8juice

v8juice

Hi everyone I'm 14 and a few months ago bought my first hot rod a 49 plymouth 2 door coupe. It doesn't have an engine or transmission. I have very little knowledge about working on cars but plan to learn as I go:eek: . So far I haven't done to much work as it's crammed in our small garage.
    Any tips hints or criticisms will be greatly appreciated as I progress through this build
    here is a pic of when I got it

Attached Files:

2. v8juice

v8juice

This picture brings a whole new meaning to "project car". But It could be much worse. After grinding away bondo and removing riveted on "patch panels" its like dude wheres my car

Attached Files:

3. BuiltFerComfort

BuiltFerComfort

Find the p-15/d-24 forum. They can help a lot for these cars.

Get a MIG welder and learn to weld. If you can learn rust repair on this car it will be a skill that will last the rest of your life. DON'T half-ass it (like I did at your age) since the rust will come through again. As the old saying goes, "ask me how I know :).

What sort of motor are you anticipating? Remember that gas is expensive and you can often get the stock motor for these cars (Flathead Mopar 6) for cheap. There are steering box fit issues - not insurmountable - with small block V8s and big blocks are much harder.

4. Arthur1958

Arthur1958