Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Welding cast iron?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by THE1ANDONLY, Jan 27, 2014.

1. THE1ANDONLY

THE1ANDONLY
    from Norco, CA

Hey guys, not sure where to really post this but being the age of this engine I decided to post here, I am restoring an antique Chris Craft boat (1952) with a Hemi in it and I have cracked exhaust manifolds. The manifolds leak water only when the engine gets to operating range and I want to seal the manifolds. I am a somewhat experienced welder and am wondering what you guys suggest I do to repair this... Should I just grind out the crack and "stitch" weld the grind? Preheat the manifold? Any help will be appreciated, thanks, Shaun

Attached Files:

2. steel rebel

steel rebel
    Member Emeritus

You can weld or braze it yourself or if you have a couple of bucks to spend you are not too far from the premiere cast iron welding shop in the nation. He is in Kelseyville Ca Lake Co. He has a large oven to heat it then he gas welds it and lets it cool slowly. When he is done you can machine it. Last time I was in there he had to Dusenburg engines and heads shipped from back east there for him to weld. He was in the process of welding a 327 double hump matching number Corvette head. And had just finished a big block matching number A C Cobra block.

His phone # is 707-278-0223 or 1-866-935-3227 fax 707-278-0222.

3. That is a good place to use brass. If you can't do it yourself, ask around for someone that can. Maybe find a local trade school and ask the instructors for leads to local repair shops that have the expertise. I hate to see stuff like this welded, as in most cases you will get more cracks than you started with.

4. manyolcars

manyolcars