Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects '51 Merc Project w/ Jason Grimes

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by LouMerc51, Jan 9, 2014.

1. LouMerc51

LouMerc51
    from Louisville

I've been searching for a Mercury for years but they have always seemed out of my price range. I recently found a pretty decent 51 just a few hours away from Louisville. The original owner had it in a garage until 2007 when a metal fabricator bought it. Unfortunately he passed away and the deal landed in my lap. I contacted Jason Grimes, a guy I've been wanting to work with for a couple years now (best hot rod and custom guy this side of the Ozarks). He was down for the project that I've always wanted to do, a chopped traditionally styled Merc. My idea of traditional might differ from others so keep an open mind. I have been reading the Hamb for quite some time now but recently joined. I'm brand new to Mercs, excuse me if I ask already answered questions. They sound better coming from me. Jk Lol It's been about 10 below outside so I haven't done much. The cars getting moved to Jason's garage in a few weeks. I'll get much better pics. Until then this is what I got.
    ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1389290739.224442.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1389290749.054011.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1389290761.909082.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1389290787.292078.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1389290828.193734.jpg

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  2. wicarnut

wicarnut

Looks like a great car to start with, Have your basic "vision" for car squared away before your builder gets too far into project, like building anything , changes always $$$ bite you, but with time, ideas change, we all do that. Good luck and keep us posted with the progress, will subscribe to your build thread when you start it. Disclaimer! Free advice is sometimes worth the price paid. John [ Subscribed ]

Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  3. LouMerc51

LouMerc51
    from Louisville