Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 34 Ford Floor

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by vet57air, Jan 5, 2014.

1. I am some what of a newbie here and have a 34 Ford 3 window coupe that is a very nice driver. Problem is with the stock floor I can not bring down the rear to where I would like the ride height, due to floor/rear suspension contact. How feasible is it to replace or modify the rear floor area with the body on the car?

2. It's done every day.

3. ss34coupe

ss34coupe

It would help if you could post some pictures of the rear suspension/floor area.
    If you need help with that, contact me via pm - you can email pics to me and I will post them for you.

4. Thx. Would all I do is order up the rear portion of the floor (from who) and weld in? Anyone have pictures? The car sits on a TCI frame with 4 bar and a 9".

5. My belief is to correct the actual problem not accommodate the symptoms.
    Without seeing what you have it's hard to say what the best options are.
    Is your rear suspension modified?
    Is your floor pan stock?

6. It has a nice stock floor which hangs down beside the frame rails and as previously posted has a TCI frame with 4 bar and a 9" rear. The car runs and drives great as is but to bring the ride height down in the rear the floor would hit the suspension/rearend. I believe this is a common problem with these cars which can be seen in a lot of cars running ass high. To get the car down the floor must go up and was just wondering if this could be done with the body on the frame (the car is to nice to redo) and which floor manufacturer someone could recommend.

7. Pewsplace

Pewsplace

I would suggest you don't need a new floor but a slight modification. The drop in the 34 floor can be easily cut out to clear the suspension which I suspect is the 9 inch rear axle.
    1. Slide under car and see where the contact needs to be raised.
    2. Cut an opening 1 inch wider than the contact surface.