Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Tube Axle and Spit Bones ?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by tinhunter, Dec 14, 2013.

1. tinhunter

tinhunter

Wondering if the guys that have had experience with this set up could/would shed some light. have recently purchased a 40 pickup , been on the road for approx. 20 years so is a proven driver, my question pertains to the 4" dropped super bell ( i think) TUBE axle and split bones ( 35/36 i think). From what I have been able to figure out, most of this set up probably consists of speedway parts. I guess from everything I have read over the years says that using a tube axle with split bones is a no-no BUT,I have no first hand experience, like i said, truck has been on the road for 20 years and to my knowledge, without problems so Question is..: is this a safe set up or ?? I'm about to begin freshening the truck up and hate doing things over so a bit of direction would be appreciated...

2. Here's the biggest argument in a nut shell explained so its easy to see.

In your garage or thoughts
    Build a square out of 2x4s 36" x36". Now lift one corner and observe what happens.
    Build a triangle out of 2x4s 36x36x36. Now lift one corner and see what happens.
    That explains Henry's design vs split bones.

Ok. Take a beam axle and twist it like the square. It gives.
    Take a tube axle and twist it like the square. It doesn't give.

Radius rods are better because they give a little.

That's the argument- make good choices.

3. R Pope

R Pope

Split 'bones twist the axle when one front wheel hits a bump. Tube axles don't stand up to twisting very well, although lots of them have been set up that way.

4. tinhunter

tinhunter

Yep, Thanks, my thoughts also, just needing confirmation i guess, actually I'm just a cheap pr..k..trying to avoid doing what i know i should do..lol..appreciate the reponse..

5. metal man

metal man