Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Belly/wing/drop tank build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Truckedup, Dec 9, 2013.

1. Truckedup

Truckedup

I briefly touched on this project when I got the Ford V-8 60 started....It was a static display vehicle.....
    I'm supposed to build this pile of shit into something for a younger friend. It will not be a race vehicle, just driven very short distances with a dealer plate.He likes danger...

I build vintage race bikes and have done a few from the ground up old Chevy trucks. But I have no experience with old Ford stuff.
    I can build a simple frame no problem...

The plan is no rear suspension, the tranny as close to the rear end as possible...But how to deal with the absence of the torque tube,keep tranny oil in the tranny and rear axle oil in the axle ????

And from the photos can you tell the year of the axles? The front axle measures 50-1/4 inches center to center on the top side of the king pins.

The brake drums appear to be 12 inch
    Thanks

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Glad to see you posting, you find Andys thread?

3. Truckedup

Truckedup

No,I did look but the user name might be misspelled?

4. PaGnome

PaGnome

Hi, one of the best Belly Tank build diaries is Jim McCain, go to his web page at:http://www.mccainautomotive.com, this is very comprehensive.
    Also I am at the rolling chassis stage with build pics on Facebook , if you are on fb, give me details to invite you or go to 'Ramblin Roadsters'
    Cheers…Neil

5. Truckedup

Truckedup

Thanks Tman. That photo of the simple channel frame is what I'm thinking

6. Truckedup

Truckedup

And this is what I fabricated from parts on hand....I asked a lot of questions,very few answers, but it rolls ..:D

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

mctim64 likes this.
  7. captmullette

captmullette

looks good...

bq874 likes this.
  8. Yes! Too cool!

9. rottenleonard

rottenleonard