Register now to get rid of these ads!

Mullins trailer; what are these worth?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by petritl, Feb 15, 2013.

1. petritl

petritl
    from Marion, TX

I stopped by a friends place today to look at a trailer he has owned for the last 50 years.

He is interested in selling it but wants a considerable amount of money for it.

What are these worth?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Mullins Red Cap trailers had a short life and they are not cheap,,there are probably more fiberglass reproductions out there than the originals.

I have a glass one.

I would guesstimate if you could get it for a grand it would be a bargain ,,

I have seen real nice ones go for 2 to 3 grand. HRP

3. alchemy

alchemy

I'm no Mullins expert, but if that is original bumpers and lights I'd guess 5 grand.

4. There is an old original with rust for sale in the classifieds right now for 22-2500.

5. There are at least 2 for sale in the classifieds right now, and a few that have passed through the classifieds in not too distant past.

6. They are fairly rare and were only built from 1936-1938,,the were originally sold for around $119 bucks. HRP

7. motoandy

motoandy
    from MB, SC

Sure would be nice to have. Has he given a # yet?

8. brad2v

brad2v

What exactly is a considerable amount? That looks like a pretty nice one.

9. metal man

metal man

In that condition, (good), from what I have seen, It's worth about 5k. I have looked at a lot of them.

10. petritl

petritl
    from Marion, TX

The owner said it would take $4,500.00 to buy it.

11. Which means that he'll probably take 4K for it (or maybe less if you have cash in hand). Considering the good shape it's in and the comments made, you really just need to decide if you want to shell out the money for a real one or save a bit on a repro. If it's really what you want, go for it!

12. :eek: Sounds like he's..

[​IMG]

He sure hasn't taken care of it! HRP

13. brad2v

brad2v