Register now to get rid of these ads!

Features But I just fed my kids yesterday... and now they're hungry again

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 53 sparky, Nov 11, 2013.

1. 1971BB427

1971BB427
    from Oregon

Until I retired 3 years ago, I was an electrician. I used to have an agreement with my wife that my cars and collecting hobbies would be funded by OT, or scrap funds, and never touched the household budget. With 5 kids at home it was a challenge to keep a car build going, or collect anything, even with the OT and scrap wire! But I managed, and nobody went without.
    Now after all the kids are long gone, and it's just the two of us; I have no OT or scrap, but we've got more disposable income, and much of what I collected has been gradually sold to fund more car projects! I spend most days fiddling with one of my three cars, or helping friends with theirs. It's a blast being retired and finally getting to do what I love full time!

2. tred

tred

kinda like theHighlander suggested, I flip cars. NEW cars. nothing older than year 2000. I research the shit out of my market so I know what will move quickly, usually within a couple weeks, and what I should avoid. I also know NOW is a bad time to do this, too close to Christmas.
    tax season is right around the corner though, and that's the hot market for this kinda thing!
    it's easier than you'd think...

3. junk

junk

I will do side work for people. Mostly auto body or light repair work. I flip parts and cars also. Latest score was $80 worth of 87-97 ford pickup new take off trim. Sold 850 bucks of trim so far and I still have tons of the stuff. I'm always watching for good deals that could be flipped. My suggestion is watch the areas your knowledgable on.

I also don't have any car payments on my daily drivers. (2003 & 2004). We're running them till they puke. Having an extra 500-700 around the house that may otherwise have gone for car payments allows a lot of money for the hobby.