Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ideas brewing..1940 buick frame

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by handmedown40limited, Aug 29, 2013.

1. handmedown40limited

handmedown40limited
    from tracy ca

I have seen plenty of threads about building from for smaller hot rods.

long post please read if you have frame experience

I will load a picture of the frame diagram when I am at work

I am thinking about making a frame for my 1940 Buick Limited. Wheel base is 133 inches. Overall length of the frame is a hair over 186 inches. 49 inches wide in the rear and tapers to 26 inches in the front. I have to get back under it but the frame rails ( to the best of my memory) are 6 inch "c" channel maybe taller. Boxed from the cowl forward and has a giant "x" brace in the middle.

I was thinking I could use 6x2 x.188 wall tubing.

I have never built a frame before. But have friends that have, smaller hot rods.

I runs a cnc machine shop and have access to NC punches and large shear and break. So the fab part should be no problem.

can anyone give me any pointers on this.

the car was my great grandfathers and I want to keep it original but at the same time I want it to be safe and modern so I can take the family in it and not worry. So I want to build a replacement frame so I can run a more modern suspension without hacking the original.

sorry so long. Seems like I always ramble on.

ken

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 29, 2013
  2. badshifter

badshifter

I'd say a frame that has serviced that car for 73 years is plenty safe. If it was dangerous, that 40 wouldn't be around any more.
    I'd put my family in a factory engineered car before I put them in a car built by a bunch of guys who have built stuff before, with advice off the Internet.

3. handmedown40limited

handmedown40limited
    from tracy ca

thank you shifter, i get and understand what you are saying. the car has been resting since 1956.