Register now to get rid of these ads!

Miller Diversion or Millermatic - need some advice

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TS057, Aug 20, 2013.

1. TS057

TS057
    from Fargo, ND
    1. shoe box hambers

I'm looking to by a welder and I need some advice. I'm really torn between whether I'd be better off with MIG or TIG. I did a fair amount of research and searching and still feel no closer to making a decision. I really like the idea of TIG but part of me wonders if that would be a mistake.

I basically have my search narrowed down to a Miller Diversion 180 (or 165) or a Millermatic 211. That's about all that's in the budget. Also I'm looking to buy new so scoring a deal on CL isn't likely.

I have some basic MIG experience and about the same amount of Oxy-Acetylene experience. I'm somewhat concerned with the learning curve for TIG. I also worry that the Diversion may be too much of an entry level machine compared to a Syncro or Dynasty and not give me what I need if I go that route.

This machine will be strictly for hobby/garage use. Some of the things I could see myself welding up are:

*patch panels
    *c-notch / car frame
    *motorcycle frame / DOM tubing
    *motorcycle tins / sheet metal
    *misc aluminum
    *misc brackets / small parts
    *some random simple projects w/ square tubing/angle iron (trailers, racks, repairs, etc.)

I guess I could see the TIG being nice for the more cosmetic parts and aluminum and patch panels but wonder if I'd have limitations due to the metal being clean enough and also feel limited if I were to do a car frame or heavier welding like that.

Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated!

-Tanner

2. Dreddybear

Dreddybear

I love my Mig but TIG is the way to go if you can. More learning curve but bigger payoff and more versatile.

3. Pewsplace

Pewsplace