Register now to get rid of these ads!

T confiscated because of engine number?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Noah*, Aug 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. evintho

evintho

Good move! I'm not familiar with Texas law but there were some informative posts in this thread. BTW, those aren't rust pits, those are peen marks. Someone tried to obliverate something. Your best bet is to relieve yourself of the burden of that motor. They obviously have you for the number alteration (even if you didn't do it) and I'm sure the penalty will just be a slap on the wrist. As stated, SBC's are a dime a dozen.

And, for those advocating that you 'lawyer up'.......forget it! It won't be cost effective. Unfortunately, I've had extensive experience with both criminal and civil attorneys. They're out for one thing...........your money! Nothing but a bunch of blood sucking leeches!!

Pull the motor, dump it in the closest mud puddle, grab your coupe and go!

2. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus

I stopped reading, when stuff started to be repeated, but here's my take on what the OP has stated so far. If they are giving you a chance to take the car without the engine do it and do it quickly. Here's why. Storage fees in a lot are high. Just an overnight tow can kick your ass. All this legal shit is going to take time. The storage fees will be adding up that whole time. Remembering how slow the legal system is, this crap taking a month or more wouldn't surprise me. After just one month, it would put a fairly good size bite in your wallet.

Get the car out of there. Do you REALLY expect them to cover your old car? I've seen them leave brand new cars with the windows down. Why should they give a damn about an old car?