Register now to get rid of these ads!

Edelbrock Demons

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mustang6147, Aug 13, 2013.

1. mustang6147

mustang6147
    from Kent, Ohio

Here it is.... I studied and studied, then rebuilt the carb over last winter. Learned a lot about edelbrocks carbs. Been cruising. Engines been makin good power, that is till tonight....

I start my truck, let it idle for 5 while I lock the house. I cruise up the road, not hard. I am in my neighborhood. 25 mph. Engine sounds good.

Taking off from the third stop sign, I enter a 35 zone, so I roll a little more throttle, but this time a bog, stutter..... then go. It never does this.

So I turn up another street, to head back so I can give it a once over. Next stop sign, bigger studder...... I lay into it, she runs great, perhaps crap in the needle. She runs good then slowly gets worse.... I get home the engines loading up.... rpms dropping...... I pop the side cowl, take off the Air cleaner...... Gas is drippin from the right side venture..... ( not good )

I goose it a little its clear for a while then back to drippin. SO I shut it off, Now its pouring in......I mean fillin her up!!! I don't want to wash the walls so I start the engine back up ( wide open throttle till she fires ) then let it idle while I get a small vice grip to pinch the fuel line. Did the pinch, then pulled it in the garage. Let it run till stalled out from starvation.

Tomorrow when the engine is cool, I guess I pop the top off the carb....

I have a plastic fuel filter, I am wandering if the glue that holds the element in is breaking down..... It seems to be a needle / seat issue. Fresh rebuild. perhaps 100 miles on it. I doubt any wear

2. jcs64

jcs64

sounds like just a little junk got between the needle and seat, no big deal, just clean it out and you should be good to go.

Ive never worked on an Edlebrock carb, but my latest build has one so im sure ill be learning soon

jeff