Register now to get rid of these ads!

I need some getting started advice.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by JeremyBurke, May 27, 2013.

1. JeremyBurke

JeremyBurke

Hey all I need some advice about getting started on my first project car. First let me give you a little background. I am 36, I have three kids all boys 6, 4, and 2. Which only means that right now I don't have a ton of free time, but some, but it also means my budget is tight. I am a mechanical engineer with some basic skills. I can weld pretty well, and I can operate a mill and a lathe well enough to get myself in some trouble. I have rebuilt engines mostly motorcycle, I have also don transmissions (also motorcycle), and every carburetor anything I own has had. I have never done any paint or body work. And I have done some very basic electrical work. I live in the Portland Oregon area in an HOA neighborhood (my mistake). I want a car that I can work on and expand my meager skills, spend time in the shop with my boys, and hopefully get at least one of them hooked on cars as well. But because of the time constraints it should be a driver so I can enjoy it even when I can't find time to work. I mean a guy still has to get to work right? My dad wants in on this too but the last car he rebuilt was a '46 mercury in 1967. Poor married life and living in the jungles of Peru side tracked his hot ridding self after that.

So now the advice section I like Ford's and Merc's. I never thought of myself as brand loyal but that's just what I like. The more I look the more I like later Fairlanes '62-'64 with the '63 sport coupe being my favorite. I like mid '50's Merc's the 1953 Monterey in particular. I also love '50's Fords and late '40's F1 trucks. And is there anyone that doesn't like a shoebox.