Register now to get rid of these ads!

How do you know when your bodywork is good enough for gloss black.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Nocero, May 17, 2013.

1. Nocero

Nocero

I have a pretty good feel for getting things straight, but I'm still a beginner.
    I'll run through the steps and tell you where I'm at now.

I got the body down to bare metal. Epoxy primed, did my filler work over the epoxy, several coats of black feather fill g2, and blocked it with 220 using a grey guide coat.

Being a rookie well kinda, been 20 years since I did any bodywork and then it was just repairs and hanging tin. Anyway being I wasn't super confident I had planned a satin finish.
    After putting a light at one end of the body and wiping it down with wax and grease remover it looks pretty good shiny! I'm considering gloss black instead of satin or flat.

My plan for the next step is a couple coats of sealer, block with 400 then spray color.

So am I on the right track? And is the wax & grease remover trick a accurate way to gauge how the finish will come out?

2. Nocero

Nocero

ImageUploadedByTJJ1368798747.525236.jpg
    Here's the only pic I have right at the moment.

Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad

3. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Well you could invite the most critical nit picking car guy you know over to have a look at it. Actually another pair or two of eyes looking at it isn't a bad idea as they may spot something that you have missed.

Back when I worked in a shop (not body) I could spot a lot of flaws on cars that weren't ordinarily noticeable when I had cars up on the lift and could see the body panels from a low angle. That might help some.

Shiny rules as far as I'm concerned but I've lived the past 25 years with tinted primer too.

4. chaddilac

chaddilac

My buddy Harold will shoot a panel gloss black with some cheap paint to see where it's high or low!

5. jesse1980

jesse1980