Register now to get rid of these ads!

Quick change axle tubes loose in bells?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Tman, May 12, 2013.

1. OK, I have my QC apart thanks to this thread

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=363221

I have my new tubes (nicely done precision ground) and on a whim I dropped one in a clean bell. Slid right home with no interference. Does not surprise me since the old tubes were crude well casing turned down. Is there a known remedy for this or am I after better bells? I think I know my answer:mad:

2. Marty Strode

Marty Strode

Tman,
    You might be able to have your tubes knurled, otherwise you will be looking for some different bells.

3. junk yard kid

junk yard kid

im no expert but i think your after new bells. I guess you could pin punch the tubes, maybe weld and re-machine. I paid i think 750 for a set of new bells with axles tubes, i think.

4. These are the really nice tubes from Lefthander, who I order a lot from since becoming a dealer. I really hate to mess with them other than cutting them to length.

5. Newb on a Q change here-go easy! Read the tech post.Read the responses,outcomes,pics..... 1'st Q- how 'easy' did the tube fall in? Like just fell in,or slid in?
    2'nd Q- Looking at the center section,looks like 'bolt holes',or alligning dowels? am I correct on this?,if they are,couldnt a knurl get a tighter fit,then allighned with the holes?
    I totally get the heat/cool deal,and yes,better be dead nuts on for that one. Just trying to learn a lil something.....school me.
    Thanks.:confused:

6. Old one took a ton of force to pull out, new ones (which are correct) just drop in.

7. fab32

fab32
    Member Emeritus

Never experienced a "drop in" fit on any QC axle tube I have dealt with. A precision measurement of the i.D. of the bells and a compare with stock (new) dimensions might be in order.

Frank

8. gas pumper

gas pumper