Register now to get rid of these ads!

POS or NEG Battery Disconnect switch

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by The37Kid, Mar 28, 2013.

?
  1. Positive Side

131 vote(s)
    52.6%
  2. Negative Side

118 vote(s)
    47.4%
  1. Clik

Clik

What was that practicle joke that was played with capacitors? I don't remember any battery needed, just an unsuspecting sucker to be the ground.

2. TheEngineer

TheEngineer
    from New Mexico

According to Electrical Engineering 101, it doesn't matter.

In real life, the neutral bus can still kill you with all the breakers off in the house. (or so I was told when I was an electricians apprentice. I actually saw a few weird things happen between the neutral and ground in that job).

In the car, if you switch the NEG and drop a wrench across the NEG terminal to the body, it will energize the system but nothing noticeable will happen and you won't know anything is wrong until you shock the shit out of yourself pulling the starter out. You can drop a wrench anywhere else on the car and it won't matter.

If you switch the POS and drop a wrench across the POS terminal to the body, things will get pretty exciting and you will know something happened right away. It's not likely that you'll accidentally drop a wrench across the terminal and hit another exposed positive location to energize the whole system. This way you can avoid accidentally shocking yourself (unless you lean over the battery). Again, you can drop a wrench anywhere else on the car and it won't matter.

Positive is the better way to go.

3. Mike51Merc

Mike51Merc

I'll take that challenge. I bet you dollars to doughnuts that your coil cannot create a charge if your battery is disconnected on either side. You can turn your key all day long. It simply cannot get "powered" up if there is no CIRCUIT.

A lot of guys here are confusing DC with AC. With AC there's a "hot leg" and a "neutral". You always switch the hot leg on a AC system.