Register now to get rid of these ads!

54 Chevy Pickup Front Bumper

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Adapt, Mar 22, 2013.

1. Adapt

Adapt

As I stated in my tranny post, I am new to HAMB and new to restoring cars. I am not a mechanic by trade, and learning as I go. I was given a 1954 Chevrolet 3100 from a gentleman that passed away at my church. He dropped a mid 70's Chevy 350 in it and replaced the front clip and rear axle from a donor Trans Am.

I never even thought about a front clip replacement when I ordered a front bumper. When I went to install it, I noticed the donor frame is much wider than the brackets to mount the bumper. About 6 inches on each side. There are two ways I can think to try and make this work. Remember I am a novice, and this is my first truck so fabrication is new to me.

1 - Weld some metal to the existing frame to make the gap narrower thus giving me supports for the stock bumper mounts.

2 - Try to fabricate my own bumper mounts that will bolt onto the existing frame. I do not have metal bending equipment.

The only other option is run with no front bumper.

What do you all think?

Attached Files:

2. Razorshotrods

Razorshotrods
    from Phoenix

I think the front bumper is the least of your worries after looking at the picture.

3. Adapt

Adapt

That was about 2 weeks ago. I just pulled the old bed off and decided to completely replace it. I have the rear fenders off and sanding them down in preparation for paint. I have the rear bumper on, rear lights mounted and working. My plan is to get the front grill mounted. It came with a black painted 5 bar and an actual bull nose that was painted. I have the bull nose at the chrome shop now. Once I get the front bumper mounted, here is my order of work:

1 - Pull motor
    2 - Disassemble body and repair any small rust holes
    3 - Prep body for paint
    4 - Sand frame
    5 - Paint frame and body
    6 - Reassemble with proper wire management