Register now to get rid of these ads!

Vintage shots from days gone by!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dog427435, Dec 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4everblue

4everblue

The Beatles ticket stub was very interesting. At that time I was working at a GM assembly plant. My pay rate was $3.54 an hour. The exact price of that ticket. One hours wage today won't buy a ticket to see a no-name act let alone a big name.

2. But 'Enough is Enough!'

3. jimi'shemi291

jimi'shemi291

Gary, sweet Buick granny has there. Looks like a '49 Roadmaster, if I'm not mistaken.:rolleyes: 320 Fireball OHV straight eight
    Dynaflash. I'm no Buick expert, but does that look like a four-door HARDTOP?:confused: If so, I didn't know Buick offered a four-
    door hardtop quite that early. (I'm a DeSoto guy, and DeS was around the Olds/Buick class. They didn't have a four-door
    hardtop 'til '56. :eek: Yow.)

[​IMG]

THEN&NOW: I always loved the WILD names companies came up with for engines, trannies and other mechanical
    and creature-comfort offerings! "Fireball" seems a little over the top, IMO.

[​IMG]

Photo thanks, obviously, to BOLDRIDE

<!-- end of AOLMsgPart_1_68295397-69e3-4c07-9c75-3749f29aa3d9 -->

4. Another of Elvgren's 'Classy Chassis'
    [​IMG]

5. Perry, Florida - looks like late 40s:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

6. 1952, Tallahassee Florida:
    [​IMG]

7. Early Tele-tubbies? :eek: Nope. They are Russian Cosmonaut 'action figures' from about 1960:
    [​IMG]

8. jimi'shemi291

jimi'shemi291

Posted by SWI
    [​IMG]

Gary, haven't seen this pic before of Brynner, Bronson, McQueen and Vaughan
    in an off-duty moment while filming "The Magnificent Seven." We all know that
    in his salad days Steve worked straight scale wages to pay his rent and eat by
    starring in the surprise 1958 moneymaker "The Blob.":rolleyes:

But what was Robert Vaughan doing in '58:confused:, long before "Seven" or Napoleon Solo?