Register now to get rid of these ads!

Welding old bumper problems

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Lowrders, Feb 14, 2013.

1. Lowrders

Lowrders
    from DUBUQUE IA

I've searched, If anyone can come up with a link, feel free to guide me to it.

Anybody ever weld an old bumper and have the welds crack? I'm no expert welder here, but I like to think I can hold my own. Last night I was modifying my bumpers for my car. I think the bumper I have is a front off a 54 chevy, but not sure. Anyway, the problem I'm having is welding the center section. It welds really nice, the weld looks good, great penetration, decent heat spread. But, You smack it with a hammer and it'll bust off every time. You can see the cross cut of the weld and it looks all crystallized and brittle. I've tried to tig and mig. With the mig I threw on a couple decent tacks, same crystal look.
    Now, I've google'd a couple things and came up with a few answers, but nothing really saying that they've had the exact same problem. I did however see that some old bumpers were made with spring steel, and that makes sense to me. So I went to the welding store and bought some pretty damn expensive filler rod (Tig) and I'll give it a go tonight.
    Basically, I'm throwing out a feeler to see if anyone has had the same experience welding on bumpers, or if I just suck, or if anyone knows of what to try or how to fix it...
    LMK! Thanks!!

2. earlymopar

earlymopar

That is true with the spring steel in at least some older bumpers. Even my 65 Dodge pickup uses a medium carbon steel in its bumpers which is a real bugger to work on. Spring steel is high carbon steel. By welding it, you're locally heat treating it. You can get around your problem by annealing it after welding with the proper temperature and time soak. You would have to know what steel you have for sure to to it correctly.

- EM

3. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus