Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods I need some friggin help here!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 30modelcoupe, Feb 3, 2013.

1. 30modelcoupe

30modelcoupe
    from Lubbock

I have a 30 model coupe that has been in the family since new. I had the org. 4-banger rebuilt and wasn't happy, so I decided to go with a y-block. I need some help with if I need to just suck it up and buy a new frame or if I should pay someone to box it? I have no welding experience so I need some help.

2. Gearhead Graphics

Gearhead Graphics
    from Denver Co

id go with a new one at that rate. then you could get it built to your liking. For sure the stocker wont hold up to the yblock. No clue how it was kept (how rusty it is) but nice new metal always makes ya smile

3. shinysideup

shinysideup
    BANNED
    from ruskin, fl

Let me suggest your decision based on that info? Right.

4. VoodooTwin

VoodooTwin
    from Noo Yawk

Get a new deuce frame.

5. falconsprint63

falconsprint63
    from Mayberry

I'd buy a new fram and use the orignal to build a speedster

6. Andy

Andy

It is amazing that the car has been in your family so long. I would keep it as is and build a new car to suit your needs. You would really not use much from the old car. I see new suspension brakes steering, transmission and rear end in addition to the new engine and frame. The only thing you would use is the body. Get a roadster body and build a new car. There is less paint and interior in a roadster so cheaper to build and more valuable later.

7. 30modelcoupe

30modelcoupe
    from Lubbock

what a suprise a smart ass comment from somone in Florida.. suprise.suprise

8. chubbie

chubbie