Register now to get rid of these ads!

I will never butt weld sheet metal again

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bobj49f2, Feb 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobj49f2

bobj49f2

After reading several posts here about how butt welding patch panels is better than lap welding I decided to try it on my latest project. What a PIA and waste of time. I've been doing body work for many years and have always lap welded panels. I know, the argument is lap welds are a place for rust to start. Well, after blowing throw my seams numerous times I have a hundred little barbs of welding wire sticking through the inside of the panel that I can't get to. This is going to form a good potential for rust, just as much if not more than lap welds. I have vehicles on the road for the last 20 years that are holding up very well.

Unless you have all the time in the world, or get paid by the hour, butt welding is the biggest waste of time, IMO. I will never do it again. In the time it's taken me to install 4-5 pieces I could have had all of my patches lap welded in and moved on to the body work.

Just a heads up for guys who are starting their first builds. Lap welding panels is a lot easier, faster and less frustrating.

Let the flaming begin.

2. Post Apocalyptic Kustoms

Post Apocalyptic Kustoms
    BANNED
    from Outside

Overlapping is the absolute wrong way to do it and butt welding is the only quality way to do it. if you overlap then you are wasting your time because you are doing nothing but inviting rust back into you panels for the future. Take the time to learn to butt weld an do it right or stop doing metal work. Theres no in between. It's a skill, you can learn it. No quality body men or fabrication shops that I've seen will overlap panels, it's just a cheap shortcut for under-skilled fabricators.

Consider yourself flamed.