Register now to get rid of these ads!

Don Orosco's Pebble Beach Winner

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by luciomduran, Aug 29, 2007.

1. Boones

Boones
    from Kent, Wa
    1. Northwest HAMBers

ya really really nice car.

2. turdytoo

turdytoo

Man how cool would it be if that car could talk and we could ask question.

3. HotRodFreak

HotRodFreak

It was at Goodguys Pleasanton last weekend,
    as were many other historic rods and customs,
    with a sign that told the story.

4. couverkid

couverkid

Well I am new to the hamb but want to thank Tim aka houseofhotrods for his comments. I am 31 years old and grew up around Doug Lauzon,Jim Donovan and the Lloyd Bakan 32 coupe. The car was found by John Potter of Vancouver,Wa. in the late 70s or early 80s up in northern washington. It then was bought by a member of the road agents (cant remember name) Then Jim Donovan bought it and had it for years. He and doug would drag race it as tim said. Jim passed away and Doug was his best friend so jims wife sold doug the car for a very good price this was in about 1995. Doug built a 300 plus cubic inch flathead for it and drove it around. Doug got cancer and pulled the motor out and was building a hemi to put in the car. The car for years had multiple flatheads with a toploader 4 speed. My dad wanted to buy the car but Doug was a good friend and dad would never ask him if he would sell the car because that car meant the world to doug. I will never forget me and my dad just got a 40 coupe done and went on a test drive and came home to find Doug and his wife in the driveway with the 32 coupe. Wish I took a picture. Harms way posted some pictures and the first picture of the car without the motor is the day it was sold buy Doug. Doug told me that Don Orosco didnt buy the car from Doug there was a middle man ( I believe Tim Cubna?) Doug sold the car for $45,000 and Don bought it for $75,000 The car was in unbelievable shape and still had all the neat parts i