Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Crazy old GM film starring the '60 Corvair

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bill McGuire, Jan 28, 2013.

1. When I worked as a line wrench in Chevy dealers there were still a few Corvairs around. Low man on the totem pole usually got stuck working on them, though there were some mechanics around who liked to work on them. Same deal when the Vega came along.

2. Exactly. To counter the effects of the rear suspension, the front tire pressure was 16 PSI...which almost no one followed, of course.

3. Hellfish

Hellfish

Nader fabricated all of his data in order to make a point and sell books. He was proven wrong in the 70s, after the Corvair line was killed ...but it wasn't killed because of Nader. Chevy wanted to concentrate on the Camaro. Anyway, Nader concentrated on the 60-61 which LOOKED awkward, and people kept trying to drive a REAR engined car like a front engined one and ended up oversteering, but there were no real saftey problems with it. The 62-63 models were better, and the 64 was even better, but the 65-69 were dramatically better, with stabilizers, etc

4. Dan Timberlake

Dan Timberlake

No support intended for Nader, but I've talked to a few talented racers who have no idea how they do what they do so well.

Carl Shipman wrote some of the best motorcycle tech books and articles I ever read. I think in one book while explaining some tech principle he said "Sometimes good coaches are fat."
    A lot of great coaches never played in the NFL (Bill Belichick and Mike Shanahan for example) .
    -------
    IN 2008 the Arizona Cardinals made it to the Superbowl for the 1st time in 30 years.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008_Arizona_Cardinals_season

Certainly the legendary coach and quarterback were important components, but some credit should be given to Todd Haley, the defensive coordinator.