Register now to get rid of these ads!

Leaf springs

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by oakmckinley, Dec 4, 2012.

1. oakmckinley

oakmckinley

Hi

I am installing some new leaf springs on my Fairlane, and my question is, is it normal to just bolt it back up like in the photo below? (example photo, not my set-up)
    Should there be any rubber something in there between the springs and the axle spring pad? This is my first time installing leaf springs and what came off looked like it had some sort of rubber something?

Thanks in advance

[​IMG]

2. RDAH

RDAH
    from NL, WI

I've worked on a lot of cars in the past 50 years & I've seen them with & without pads. It might make a difference in the amount of road noise you get through the frame.

3. RDAH

RDAH
    from NL, WI

Forgot to mention that I cut & use tire side walls for my pads between the spring & rearend housing.

4. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

car just for regular street use? getting springs from a general parts place or a place that makes springs? if spring builder ask their recommendation. as stated some have end pads or anti-squeek material between leaves. never hurts to spray some white grease between leaves before lowering car back down. use jack stands, etc - safety first.

5. I just bought some last week for my 64 fairlane from Mac's Auto Parts www.macsautoparts.com

I think it was called an insulator or something.

6. As luck would have it I ordered 4 instead of 2. Must have been drinking.

Anyway, if you want them let me know and they are yours. Merry Christmas.

Attached Files:

7. landseaandair

landseaandair
    from phoenix

Pretty sure any car that used a rubber insulator had it wrapped in some sort of clamshell. If not the U bolts would never stay tight.

Ford
    [​IMG]

GM
    DSC04748.jpg

If no shell, just bolt them up direct.

8. If he doesn't go for them ill take you up on that offer. Assuming they'd fit a '62 as well

Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad