Register now to get rid of these ads!

Why Does MIG Welding Get A Bad Rap?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Drive Em, Dec 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ghost of ElMirage

Ghost of ElMirage

Wow this is news to me. I work on airplanes for a living and quite often (QUITE OFTEN) we have our in house machine and welding shop build replacement parts from scratch and all of these guys doing the fabricating will only TIG weld when absolutely called for . Each one one of these guys is a shit hot welder. One of my close friends has worked at our outfit for 30 years and doesn't use TIG if it aint called for. He's says if you know wtf you're doing MIG is more than adequate.

2. 48FordFanatic

48FordFanatic
    from Maine

This all got me thinking about when I was a kid learning to weld. My Dad had a small construction company in Massachusettsand one of his pieces of maintenance equipment was a 300 amp Hobart welder powered by a Mercury flat head V8. I learned how to weld on that machine at the age of about 12. A bit of history for the Worcester , Mass area guys. That welder/generator was used in Worcester, Mass. back in the early fifties to power several homes for days after a tornado destroyed a good part of the city. I think I wore it out because it stopped welding well and was retired. I pulled the flat head off and put it in my 40 Ford Coupe after the Olds 324 in it bought the farm.

I know ....who cares !!

Oh welding ....nothing wrong with MIG.

3. Listen up! This is your answer above. I am a retired certified welder (40 years) welding everything from building frames, steam pipes and stainless steel sanitary pipe was my speciality. Building cars my entire life and would never use a mig on anything structural. It has some good uses but I have seen fractures that would keep me from using it on anything safety related. "Blue One" gives a perfect explanation, period.

4. oddcraig

oddcraig