Register now to get rid of these ads!

home made tools and equipment...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by kustombuilder, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Heres another E wheel for ya . I knocked this one out in a couple days . Just a few more tweaks here and there and its ready to be prettied up LOL !!!

Attached Files:

2. bonez

bonez
    from Slow lane

:cool: pretty clever mate. Will do one as well. :cool:

LOL thought i was the only one that noticed

3. Dawai

Dawai
    from North Ga.

Ago: perhaps this will get you started.. I can draw a schematic of mine if anyone wants me to do so, I posted this on metalmeet and only heard uninterested CRICKETS..

the basics..

1st edm I made here.. by Home shop machinist plans. I think I gave $25 for the book.. it requires "special" conductive edm fluid to operate.. why? (I am a retired electrician) And the biggest cheapskate here.

the arc-distance-capacitance-resistance must be controlled to operate "spark" discharge rate at the right timing to allow charging of the electrode. THE HSM (Langlois?) unit with plain tap water did so little cutting you would grow a long beard before it bored a hole.

This new one, I used a large hyster hobart battery charger transformer with current limiting, a bank of capacitors switched in and out charging through plain old wire wound resistors. I have "seen" them limited through 120 volt light bulbs in chrome plating tanks. (series like a very old christmas tree light) when the bulb is lit, the current is flowing.. also a indicator when a chrome tank lost connection. About the same kind of high amperage low voltage power supply.

anyways.. using my unit it works with plain tap water once you switch on the proper resistance and capacitors in the circuit right.. THE water carries the powdered iron in a ink cloud away from the hole. (see video at end)