Register now to get rid of these ads!

Rear Main Leaking 302 should I Pull Engine?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by goldtele, Nov 15, 2012.

1. goldtele

goldtele

Hello,

The rear main seal is leaking in a 74 302 that I installed in my 56 Fairlane a few years ago. I had the engine rebuilt in 06 but it's leaking from what I can see from the rear main.

Question, can you replace the rear main with the engine in the car or is it was easier to just pull the engine and do it that way??

Any advise would be appreciated!

Thanks

2. MATACONCEPTS

MATACONCEPTS
    BANNED

It dried out. If you could stand it, drive it more so it could leak & lube itself & freshen up.

If you replace it, dont let it sit for 6years again & dry out again.

3. goldtele

goldtele

Sorry, I was unclear. I have been driving the car for the last six years the leak has just been getting worse over the last few months. Even tried the Lucas Stop leak for the hell of it and it didn't help.

4. MATACONCEPTS

MATACONCEPTS
    BANNED

Guess you got to pull it

5. d2_willys

d2_willys
    from Kansas

If it is a two piece seal, it can be replaced in the car. IIRC, this is a rope type seal. If so, the easiest way of getting the upper seal out is to loosen the other main caps to drop the crank. This will make removing and installing easier. Try and find a rear main seal removal tool or use a stiff piece of wire to pull seal out.

6. nelson31

nelson31
    from Santa Cruz

there is a tool called a "sneaky pete". most times if you remove the oil pan you can "sneak" the rear main seal out after removing the rear main cap. Lisle makes the tool that i have. Part number 27000, should be available at your local parts supplier or sears.

7. Don's Hot Rods

Don's Hot Rods
    from florida