Register now to get rid of these ads!

Home painters - primer

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 34 Hound, Nov 10, 2012.

1. 34 Hound

34 Hound

Gotta get up to speed, I'm an old school nitro lacquer guy but haven't sprayed a car in 25 years.

I have very little experience with the new urethane/epoxy products. I'm looking for a good bare metal primer, perhaps high-build for finish sanding????

Any good sites to walk a guy through to the other site of the forest?

Thanks.

2. Check out Southern Polyurethanes website, good info and good stuff.

3. 34 Hound

34 Hound

4. theHIGHLANDER

theHIGHLANDER
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Metal and filler work 1st. Well etched metal with a metal prep rinsed and blown dry, should look "bluish-gold" when done. Follow with 1-2 nice coats of epoxy primer and allow to flash for 45-60min depending on conditions. Follow up with a good 2K type of primer, sometimes adding 15-20% reducer for a nice smooth finish. Kinda the same as the lacquer days with the exception of epoxy instead of the old zinc-chromate. Some 2Ks are just fine over well etched steel. The epoxy is more of an additional corrosion inhibitor and good for old metal, like what most of us are screwin around with. Good luck, from another old lacquer guy...

5. 34 Hound

34 Hound

Zinc-chromate.... ah, what a lovely shade of punch-in-the-eyes green.

6. u-pol...have had great results...dtm primer...direct to metal high build...easy sanding..tintable..

7. yetiskustoms

yetiskustoms

PPG D822 / 823 primer/cat. amazing product that is a hybrid epoxy with direct to metal capabilities. good build. i also like dp primer topped with k-38 primer.

my 2cents

8. philly the greek

philly the greek
    from so . cal.

I've had very good results for several years using Valspars' Direct to Metal primer . It has good build properties , sands easily and does'nt shrink back. Good luck.