Register now to get rid of these ads!

Passionate about cars

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mitchell de Moor, Nov 11, 2012.

1. This is something I have needed to talk about and get off my chest since 2010. I am glad to be a part of a forum like this where I can express myself.

I have been lying to myself, my family, and my friends for the past two years now. It was only until about last week that I slapped myself in the face and said it's time for a reality check and to stop lying to myself.

All I ever wanted to do since I was a child was build kustoms and hot rods. I went to high school overseas where there was no access to any tools or cars. So in 2010 I put an advertisement here on the HAMB about doing an internship. I had a ton of people wanting to help me out right away. I eventually decided to go with Alex Gambino at Gambino Kustoms in San Jose, California.

I moved back to the other side of the world to start apprenticing under Alex at his shop in San Jose. Although me being a Canadian citizen I could only be there for six months:(

While working for Alex in 2010 I had a blast. Alex is one of the sweetest most generous people you will ever meet. I also got to meet pretty much everyone in the scene on the Left Coast. It was a total dream come true.

However the magazines didn't tell me there wasn't much money in the industry or there wasn't much demand for kustom cars and hot rods (go figure:confused:).

So I left Gambino Kustoms not sure if I should go back or if I should go back to school (college or university). Eventually I came to the decision of going back to school.

So I started a two year (diploma program) at a college for a University transfer program. I thought okay I'll go to University and become some suit and tie ass hole. I kept telling everyone this is what I wanted and eventually I myself came to the realization I was happy doing this.