Register now to get rid of these ads!

53-56 f100 frame help!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dumptruck88, Nov 8, 2012.

1. dumptruck88

dumptruck88
    from lakewood

Hey im new to the HAMB and had a few questions regarding the 53-56 f100 frame. I have a 55 f100 that is my daily driver with a I6 223. I want to put in a 351C. Im thinking about purchasing another frame and getting that all set up with an ifs and discbrakes and installing the 351C into that frame and when its all ready just switching the cab over. Will my 55 f100 cab fit onto the 53-56 frame?? and do i need to box the frame at all for the 351C?? Plz help!!!

2. Jim Dieter

Jim Dieter
    from Joliet

I have juggled frames on 53 to 55 with no problems except fot the panel frame that has an extension on the rear. And I would box, my caddy twisted the rails. I know the 351 isnt quite as heavy, but I think it would be safer.

3. Had to put a '53 cab on a '55,,no problems,,,

4. carlos

carlos
    from ohio

Had a bunch of f-100 2-56 53 55 had a 429cj motor in a 56 and they are some heavy motors no problem and a 53 with a 409 chevy

5. Larry T

Larry T

Don't cut out the crossmember that runs between the front cab mounts (under the transmission) and it should be ok.

6. RHOPPER

RHOPPER

It seems to me that working with the frame you've got would be easier than swapping all the sheet metal over. If you MII it, the motor mounts will be on the crossmember anyway. Remove the front sheet metal. Pull the motor, install the crossmember and suspension, install the motor and tranny. Remount the front sheet metal and it's a driver again.

7. Tom Thomas

Tom Thomas
    from Nebraska

Another opinion: If your 55 is your daily driver than I would go with your idea of building another frame. That approach will give you time to really detail the entire frame, etc. and in the end you will be glad you did.

8. dumptruck88

dumptruck88
    from lakewood