Register now to get rid of these ads!

Need help again !! No spark

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by onegalonly, Oct 23, 2012.

1. onegalonly

onegalonly

I'M NEW TO THE FLATHEAD GAME.. got my hands on a 1948 ford with an EAB flathead in it (1952-1953).. the car sat in storage for 30 years (so i'm told).. i removed the spark plugs and the motor turned over easily by the crank pulley.. bought a new battery.. the rotor, cap, points, condenser look almost new. the coil looks old as do the plug wires.. cranked over easily but I HAVE NO SPARK FROM THE COIL.. i checked the resistance between coil terminals and it read around 1.8 ohms (in the ballpark of where it should be i think).. could the coil be bad?? will any 6v coil work??any help on firing her up would be appreciated...

2. noboD

noboD

Use a test light and follow the circuit from ignition switch to coil. Where is the last place you have current? Coil? Points? With the cap off is there spark at the points when you turn it over? Point gap OK?

3. Check the point gap, at the top of the cam.

4. GMC BUBBA

GMC BUBBA
    Member Emeritus

Clean the contacts with a dollar bill folded up (finest emery cloth made). With key on and point closed can you make spark at the contacts with screwdriver.
    Contacts corode when sitting........
    Just another idea.....

5. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus

That described my Sunday afternoon. It's always the simple things that get over looked.;)

6. At least you stayed around to fix it. And learned from it.

I remember fixing a truck, when some jackass didn't. :eek: :rolleyes:
    Moron.

7. Diavolo

Diavolo