Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 34 drag truck build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mat Thrasher, Jun 5, 2009.

1. SKULL ORCHARD

SKULL ORCHARD
    from KS
    1. The Gas House Gang

matt what brand of oil are you useing? i have owned solid roller in all my performance motor most in the 700 lift range never had any issues, would like to hear why . old story cheap is never good for anything ,but doing it twice . good luck. mark

2. deto

deto

this thing is ruthless

3. Mat Thrasher

Mat Thrasher

Me either but I'll be the first to admit I'm not a motor guy. What better way to learn about anything, right?

Mark, I can't remember right now, but I do know it says the "Green Oil" on the bottle. Like I said I'm no expert on motors and run what my motor guy gives me. The cam and lifters are Comp. What do you run in your motors? How many miles do you put on a set before you change them out? From what I'm reading between 5000-7000 miles. And you're 100% right about being cheap. But I thought I was cheap everywhere else in my life so I could spend more money on my truck. At least that's what my wife tells me.:eek:

4. SKULL ORCHARD

SKULL ORCHARD
    from KS
    1. The Gas House Gang

thats funny i hear the same thing ( wheres the flowers ?)cam motion is cams i use those guys always give my stuff that make 40 hp over shelf cams, cant remember rite now but will check for you. i put 177 1/4 @1/8 mile passes total probably 5 k street miles , did drag week 11 broke rear end but motor stayed together with no issues turned 3200 rpm @ 60 miles an hour. i use champion oil brand 20/50 it still has zinc in it . rollers like it.

5. ShakeyPuddin55

ShakeyPuddin55

On my 55 with a BIG solid roller, I just turn the motor over once a week to make sure a single spring doesn't get killed. So far so good.

6. 1arock

1arock