Register now to get rid of these ads!

shipping large parts via greyhound

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BadassBadger, Sep 27, 2012.

1. BadassBadger

BadassBadger
    from wisconsin

ok i've been selling classic car parts for several years now and its been great for making extra cash. anywho i ship 99.9 via post office the rest being local pick up. now i did know greyhound shipped large stuff but the few times i looked i couldn't as because said item was over 100lbs. anyways over the years from the cars i parted out i've amassed hoods doors fenders and decklids and here i looked today for a 52 ford decklid someone wants to buy from me is only $70 (as far as the site calculator says anyways)
    i plan on calling my local greyhound tomorrow before i give the green light to my buyer but also i just would like your guys input if you shipped or received parts via the grey dog.

2. 117harv

117harv

There are several threads here regaurding GH, I have shipped large items a few times all with great success. GH is only good for large awkward items, smaller stuff that can go through the post office go that way as it is cheaper.

3. Ive shipped with the race dog about 50 times. Sometimes its easy as can be, sometimes its a PITA. The people that work there dont have it down as smooth as USPS or UPS. Never had anything damaged or come up missing though.

4. gearheadbill

gearheadbill

I use them regularly. Very reliable and at least somewhat cheaper than others. GREAT for bulky and awkward parts.

5. BadassBadger

BadassBadger
    from wisconsin

and thats what i was hoping :D cuz i have shipped hundreds items via post office over the years and the occasional heavy-yet-smaller items via UPS but never yet tried greydog
    and from what i see they take items up to 82 inches!!! that means pretty much any all car parts!

6. rd martin

rd martin
    from indiana

had good luck with grey dog, sent and recieved several fenders , no problems reasonable.