Register now to get rid of these ads!

Where did you learn to do what you do

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Amoros, Sep 15, 2012.

1. Amoros

Amoros

So... I'm new to all this, but I'm eager to learn. I'm a little scared but excited. Was wondering how you guys learned to customize cars and maybe fill me in on where I could find the resources to learn also.

I really don't want to be that person who sends his stuff out to be worked on. I like to be able to say that i did it with my own hands. Not criticizing anyone, just personally for me, I want to learn if at all possible. I've learned that there's a million ways to skin a cat when customizing whether its swapping parts or frames, or keeping it Stock and pure, or going wild and custom.

How do I start?

2. Books, video, watching others, jumping in and not being afraid,,,,,,,, and PRACTICE.

3. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

Read voraciously.......hang out with people who have skills you admire and want to acquire. Keep your eyes and ears open for tidbits of information all the time. Ask questions. You can't learn it all overnight, none of us did, but it is cumulative and the more you learn the easier it becomes to figure things out on your own.

Ray

4. fastcar1953

fastcar1953

what they said. ^^^^^^^^^^

5. time life how to series book # 6 "how to hot rod". came with a set of steak knives.

6. I'm in the same boat as you are and the one thing that's helping me out the most is asking questions. No matter how dumb they may seem its always better to know. I'm reading lots online and keeping my eyes open for old manuals and old car magazines anywhere I go. Good luck! :D