Register now to get rid of these ads!

Is This really a 36 Chevy Coupe Pickup?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TheWookie, Aug 17, 2012.

1. TheWookie

TheWookie
    from Laveen AZ

I recently purchased a 36 chevy coupe. The guy I got from told me that the old man he got from said it was a coupe pickup. No bed or trunk lid came with the car. Ascetically I love the way the car looks now I don't plan on painting or doing any bodywork beyond knocking out the big dents. But if it did start out life as a coupe pickup I think I should put the bed back in. Here is a few pictures of the car. The space for the trunk starts way to low to be a normal 36 from what I can find. Some of you experts please let me know what you think. [/ATTACH][/ATTACH][/ATTACH]

Attached Files:

2. edcodesign

edcodesign
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I'm no expert, but I have seen various coupes with a pickup box addition done back in their day. That green one looks cool.

3. Hdonlybob

Hdonlybob

I think they were conversions during the war due to gas rations...as trucks could get more gas with the rationing...
    Cheers..........

4. do you have any crappier pictures?

'34 Ratrod, SS327, 49ratfink and 6 others like this.

5. DocWatson

DocWatson
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Christ man, clean it up and paint it, build a real Hot Rod!

Doc.

6. them picture are so crappy I can barely tell what kind of car that is.

49ratfink and VANDENPLAS like this.
  7. You don't need to tell.
    The OP has already told .... :D

8. Lild

Lild

When I talk to an old condger at a show once that had a coupe p/u he said they would ad p/u beds to cars for the increase in rations like stated by Hdonlybob.

9. LSR 2909

LSR 2909
    from Colorado

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha HA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

49ratfink and wood remover like this.
  10. bigdav160

bigdav160

My eyes aren't much better than the pics but I would guess with that tall rear valance that coupe was a pickup version.

11. 24riverview

24riverview