Register now to get rid of these ads!

Any AAA tow driver's here?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mr T body, Aug 14, 2012.

1. Mr T body

Mr T body
    Alliance Vendor
    from BHC AZ

I'm trying to get a '31 5 window from 29 Palms, CA to Anaheim, CA by AAA. I already have the 1 day trip permit (and 200 mile tow coverage), but AAA says I have to have it towed to a repair shop or else it's not a covered tow. Anyone know what the reality is? Give the driver a $20 to accidentally drop it off at my house, or? Any drivers here that can give me some tips on how to make this happen without me losing my ass on a tow?

2. Bullshit. I get my cars towed home every time they break. I'M A MECHANIC! why would I pay someone else to do it.....You're a mechanic too, right?

3. praisethelowered

praisethelowered

Hmmm. They have done this for me a lot of times over the years- never had anything towed anywhere BUT my house- just tell them the address and say it is a shop. The drivers are always cool, it may just be a matter of getting past the dispatcher.

4. Muttley

Muttley

I drove for a AAA affiliated company from '97-'04, unless they have changed their policy (and they havent that I'm aware of) the person you talked to is either an idiot or lying. I would have killed for a call like that. The driver makes big money on out of town stuff (easy call) and doesnt have to worry about all the potentially crappy ones that come in the whole time he's gone.

5. Mr.Musico

Mr.Musico
    from SoCal

your welcome to have it dropped at my shop in Anaheim as long as you are there to receive it . PM me

6. Mr T body

Mr T body
    Alliance Vendor
    from BHC AZ

Kinda figured it was bullshit, but 3 different departments (member services, roadside assistance and DMV) all said it has to go to a repair shop or it's a commercial tow and not covered.
    So drivers LIKE a long tow like that?

7. dabirdguy

dabirdguy
    Member Emeritus