Register now to get rid of these ads!

Welder and welding questions need some help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Blake84, Jul 17, 2012.

1. Blake84

Blake84

I have very little to no welding experience but I have a maintenance guy that works for me that knows how. I want to purchase a welder to learn with and also that is strong enough to do frame work on a car. The welder I was looking at is a Lincoln electric 180 hd wire fed 220v.

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/tools-...-weld-pak-180-hd-wire-feed-welder-158818.html

I'm going to do ALOT of practicing on various pieces of scrap before even attempting a frame but I want to have a welder capable when the time comes. I also plan on taking some classes.

Is the welder above OK?

Is there a link to a welder that would be better and capable of sheet metal and frame welding.....I want one welder that does anything from bike frame and sheet metal up to a frame of a car.....any help would be greatly appreciated.

Blake

2. indyjps

indyjps

Lincoln is a great welder. I suggest you go to an actual weld supply store and compare before buying at home depot. There are some very good prices on ebay from very reputable welding supply houses also, gets you regulators, carts etc.

3. rottenrods

rottenrods

That welder will be fine for what you want

4. indyjps

indyjps

I was re reading the description, says flux core / farm use. Be sure whatever you buy has the capability to run shielding gas.
    Flux core sucks for body work.

5. grabrr

grabrr

Exactly what I was gonna say, I went through it all this spring, Home Depot, Lowes...etc..etc..I knew I wanted a Lincoln, I went to the welders supply, they showed me everything inside the machine, I went back to the HD to have a look for myself, and they were right, the ones at the welding suppliers have better guts. A little more money, but I'm more than happy with my welder, it even made me a better welder, compared to my 25 year old machine.