Register now to get rid of these ads!

The Young and the HAMB'erd (Rant)

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by deto, Jul 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deto

deto

One of the more played out threads on the HAMB seems to be based on the topic "The way it was back in the day".

This is usually followed by a post about how disrespectful, ignorant, arrogant, rude, yada yada yada, the younger generation is.

I have yet to see one thread on here started by a younger guy about how he was treated poorly by an old timer.

Is it because it never happens? No. I get more arrogant and innacurate remarks from the "I've been doing this for 30 years" crowd than the younger guys.

Still, I have more respect for the older generations than can be expressed here. Which is where this post is intended to head.

To the old timers; When you see some kid at a car show who looks like a fucking Elvis impersonator, he isn't trying to attack you personally, or steal your AARP card. He doesnt know any better. He's probably a moron, and he is harmless.

In fact, if you asked him, he probably thinks you're the luckiest SOB alive because you were around in America's golden hot rod age.

If you're older and think that the "scenesters" bug you, imagine how the younger guys feel. I am willing to bet the younger guys hate the rock a silly crowd more than the salty sailors do because WE get lumped into that crowd. THOSE guys make US look collectively bad.

My point is this...

To the Old timers: Us young guys aren't all bad. Some of us really cherish this traditional thing. Go easy on the young crowd and give them some guidance.

To the Elvis Impersonators: Wheels should only be painted one color. Red.

2. ts,tsts,ts,tsts.ts

3. Square One

Square One

I would have to agree with Deto on this.

When I first got in to building/working on traditional styled cars I was the "elvis impersonator".