Register now to get rid of these ads!

scratch-start TIG???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by skatermann, Jun 18, 2012.

1. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

I will disagree with this totally. As a professional pressure welder I do code quality work on all alloys from carbon steel to stainless, Inconel, Monel and Hastelloy with no problems at all using basic scratch start Tig equipment.

All our pressure piping and vessel work is done to ASME code and inspected accordingly.

In the hands of a skilled welder a scratch start Tig can be started without contamination of the tungsten.

I've only been welding with the scratch start method for over 30 years ;)

2. Yeah, normally you need a puddle to generate contaminants. I guess if you stopped and started right up again, maybe....

3. Old Iron Nut

Old Iron Nut

I would do the trade, scratch start is not the easy way to learn, but if you keep at it, you will learn the right way to do prep and setup (two of the most important parts to a nice weld). Take what you learn with that machine and move to an HF and you will be that much better.

4. Rex_A_Lott

Rex_A_Lott

One other thing I'll throw in here...start off with something thicker, 1/4 or 3/16 and work your way down to the thinner metal.If you cant find some new scraps, at least grind the rust and paint off until you have clean metal.
    If you really hate yourself start on some thin old rusty car body and try to TIG it.

5. Scratch start is a misnomer. Someone just starting out and hearing scratch start, they picture striking like a match to get started. This is not correct. the Tungsten tip should never touch the metal being welded. The arc is started without actual contact. The contact is what causes contamination of the tungsten tip. Getting the tip close enough to arc without touching is correct.

6. CutawayAl

CutawayAl
    from MI