Register now to get rid of these ads!

should i use a free jag irs on my rpu?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by malaguena, May 19, 2012.

1. So my buddy hasnt made any progress on his rod in 5 years, as it is its just a 215 buick with no heads and a jag independant rear laying in the mud. He never found a body. He said i could have them both if i wanted and i said yes. Now its just a 2 1/2 hour trip up there and then that back.

I assume the rear will be the worse for wear, sitting outside in the rain with no rims on it for this long, but im sure it can be ressurected.

Im a novice builder and wouldnt normally go for one of these (i think theyre over used in rodding) but its free and has the mounting cage on it. I think it would be really easy to use in the 39 roadstered dodge cab i have. Just hard welding the cage to a step in the frame right in back of the cab (no bed).

Is there any reason i SHOULD NOT use this? Oh and i realize it has a crummy 2.88 rear ratio. But i read it will use a standard chevy yoke to adapt it to another driveshaft.

2. Ralph Turnberg

Ralph Turnberg
    Member Emeritus

Had two rods with them. Believe they are basically Dana 44's. A little complicated to set up correctly (shims) but were fairly reliable. Halfshaft u-joints were G.M. Sure looked good with chromed halfshafts. Calipers can be expensive. I ended up replacing them with some from a Ford Capri. Maybe they aren't in vogue now, but neither am I.

3. David Chandler

David Chandler

In the 60's they were popular.

4. Well FREE is always popular with me.

5. falcongeorge

falcongeorge
    from BC

If you are doing a late sixties-seventies themed build, it would be great. If you are planning on bias-ply WWW's, steel wheels, and 97's, its gonna look like total ass.