Register now to get rid of these ads!

51 dodge wayfarer oil change question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by crdizzle6288, May 5, 2012.

1. crdizzle6288

crdizzle6288
    from illinois

hey guys. so im a newb still and im finising up my tune up. where is my oil filter located? i see that it has a air filter oil bath. do i just drain that and clean it out and refill? i do not see an actual oil filter anywhere on the motor. im sorry of this is a dumb? but i have a dodge coronet service manua for reference but it shows that the coronet has an actual oil filter and oil bath but mine does not. any help would be great. thanks.

2. James Curl

James Curl

On the drivers side of the engine above the starter is an aftermarket oil filter that uses a cartridge, or drop in filter. If you check the oil galley cast in the block which runs from front to back where the oil pressure line comes off you may see all of the outlets plugged. The cars either came with a dealer installed oil filter as I described above or by a replaceable sealed canister with two oil lines installed , one went into the oil galley just in front of the dip stick and the other went to a boss where the pressure relief valve is located. Most of those have been discarded and replaced with an aftermarket canister oil filter with the removable element because the sealed canister is no longer available. Someone might have just plugged the outlet and inlet ports because they did not know what else to do. You can pick used ones up at swap meets as Chevrolet used this design on the 235 I/6 engines until the new engine came out in the 60s.

3. carnut341

carnut341

Where in Illinois do you live? Me and my brother live in Illinois and he has a 50 Dodge and maybe we could help you.

4. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

'hey guys. so im a newb still and im finising up my tune up. where is my oil filter located?'