Register now to get rid of these ads!

People with no mechanical skills buying old cars

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by junkyardjeff, May 1, 2012.

1. Rustic

Rustic

If you have no mechanical skills and take your car to a shop does not mean they will do a good job. Some of the junk i see coming out of shops show it is all about profit, but i have seen some beautiful cars coming from a guy who claims no skills and takes his time to do a good job.

2. piratestagehand

piratestagehand
    from Sparta, NJ

I do have to laugh at some of your responses guys. I'm admittedly a nube when it comes to this. I'm mechanically inclined but I don't have a hell of a lot of experience on cars. But I know enough to tear into it and work on what I can. But I know my limits. My old man taught me to turn wrenches and could build anything (he was an inventor by trade) but not a big car guy so I'm learning on my own. I look for the ol' schoolers out there and seek out their advice but when it's over my head I go to an ol' school shop that teaches me too.
    Remember just because I've never torn down an engine and rebuilt it doesn't mean I can't learn to or don't want to. I just need the right direction. But there are a lot of guys like me who have the drive and want to learn. Those of you who know don't blow off us new guys.

3. My .02---If more high schools still had automotive programs like they used to then more guys would have at least a working knowledge of the oldies in their garage and get a little tinker time in. The concept of teaching a trade is gone it appears and most of my generation (im 40) and younger have had a harder time seeking out working knowledge unless we were fortunate to have a friend or family member teach us or we went to school for it. All the better reason to pass on what you know.

4. 62galaxie

62galaxie