Register now to get rid of these ads!

Heat shrinking 16ga metal

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jalopy Jim, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Jalopy Jim

Jalopy Jim

I have a question for those with more knowledge about metal working than I have.

I built my own pick up box ( see Miss Fortune build ) . I used 4-1/4 tubing for the bed rail and 1-1/2 16 ga tubing for the stake pockets and frame between the two sides. The problem I have is I have three bulges in the side. One outward in the center and two inward on the ends of the box. What sequence would I use to straighten the sides. And a lesson in how to heat shrink metal would be nice also.

thank you for your help, I am self taught via the HAMB and Metalmeet on metal working.

Jim H:confused:

2. Heat > here (>( does this l l

You are shrinking a tube so you need the same top and bottom as well as the side .

3. Jalopy Jim

Jalopy Jim

The sheet metal side is where the oil caning is, the tubing framework surrounding the side is straight .

Attached Files:

4. Well your post explains in detail the tubing, easy mistake.

You have oil cans in the middle because you have shrinkage around the perimeter where you welded.
    Is it dead flat sheet or did you roll beads into it ?
    Can you stretch it back by hammer and dolly on or near the welds?

5. pimpin paint

pimpin paint
    from so cal

Hey Jim,

Without seeing a picture, my wag says that you actually need a stretch, and not so much a shrink! Anytime you weld metal it contracts upon cooling. The bulged area in the middle of your panel may well have resulted when the two outter ends contracted? I'd try and put the side panels under tension with a 4 ton Porta-Power, and see if the bulges relax. If so, stretch those areas that have moved whyle under tension.
    If you just start landing shrinks on the areas of the panel that look/feel high/above normal contour, you'll probably pull straight metal from other areas of the panel,and create more damage.:(:(