Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ford valve-train issues.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Moloko, Apr 22, 2012.

1. Moloko

Moloko

I got a call to come over to my friend's house tonight because he couldn't get his new motor to run right. The motor in question is a 1972 351W that was rebuilt by an "engine builder".

After doing the basic messing around with carb and timing, I knew something was up. It was back firing through the pipes with any initial timing under 20 degrees, and when it idled for prolong periods the headers started glowing. I had him pull the covers and found this;

[​IMG]

Every single rocker was cranked down all the way, and smashing into the valves. He had regular 3/8'' washes stacked on top of the pivot nuts because he ran out of threads and the rockers were STILL loose.

It scuffed up the top of the retainers a bit.

[​IMG]

What is wrong here? I know a part is miss-matched, but I'm not a ford expert. The pushrods measure out at about 8 3/16, which appears to be the stock size for that year motor. I'm assuming the valve springs have a higher installed height than stock, and will require longer pushrods. Just checking before we got that route.

Here are the rocker arms that were on the car.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Moneymaker

Moneymaker

OK,
    Those are rail type rocker arms which are correct for that vintage 351W.
    It also appears to have the correct corresponding long stem valves for said rocker arms.
    One thing that is out of place are the aluminum retainers which I believe are the culprits. For one thing the diameter is too big for those stock rockers.
    I am pretty certain that the rocker arms are hitting the retainer and are interfering with the valve action.

3. Moloko

Moloko

Yeah, but I can't see them being cranked down all the way to the point of the rockers bottoming out on the studs, no?

4. Moneymaker

Moneymaker